

Private Bag X115, Pretoria, 0001 • 40 Church Square, PRETORIA, 0002 • Tel: +27 12 315 5372, Fax: +27 12 406 9055 • www.treasury.gov.za

MEDIA STATEMENT

APPOINTMENT OF MS SILINDILE KUBHEKA AS THE CHAIRPERSON OF THE OMBUD COUNCIL AND MS LEBOGANG SENNE AS A BOARD MEMBER OF THE OMBUD COUNCIL

The Minister of Finance, Mr Enoch Godongwana, has in terms of section 180 of the Financial Sector Regulation Act No. 9 of 2017 (FSRA) appointed Ms Silindile Kubheka as the Chairperson, and Ms Lebohang Senne as a member of the Board of Directors (BoD) of the Ombud Council, both for a period of three (3) years, effective from 01 February 2023.

Ms Kubheka has served as a member of the BoD of the Ombud Council since November 2020. She is currently Head of Group Finance: Governance and Risk Compliance at Transnet SOC LTD. Ms Kubheka is a seasoned finance professional with over nineteen years of experience in both the government and private sector.

Ms Senne is an experienced Chartered Accountant; currently serving as a Deputy Chairperson of the Financial Reporting Standards Council (FRSC) Board.

The Minister thanks Ms Deanne Wood, who served as Chairperson from inception of the Ombud Council until December 2022, for her diligence and outstanding service during the establishment phase of the Council. He also thanks Advocate Dikeledi Chabedi, the Deputy Chairperson of the Council, who stepped in as Acting Chairperson to ensure continuity in the Council pending the appointment of the new Chairperson.

Minister Godongwana would like to congratulate Ms Kubheka and Ms Senne on their appointment and wish them well on their respective tasks ahead.

Issued by the Ministry of Finance

Date: 18 January 2023